The North Central Region of the Astronomical League is made up of member societies the six states commonly thought of as the Upper Midwest of the USA. The NCRAL has its own officers, budget and annual convention to bring activites and information from the national body closer to home.

Region Award

The largest award is the annual Region Award. It is given to a member of the NCRAL that demonstrates extraordinary skill, generosity, and devotion to promoting amateur astronomy and support of the NCRAL events and goals.

Nominations for the 2013 NCRAL Region Award will open shortly. We will announce this year’s recipient after the NCRAL 2013 Convention banquet.

Past Region Award Winners

Year Recipient Club
1989 Frank Roldan
Berton L. Stevens
Wehr Astronomical Society, Milwaukee Astronomical Society
Chicago Astronomical Society
1990 Dan Troiani Chicago Astronomical Society
1991 Katherine & William DuVall Racine Astronomical Society
1992 Robert Schmidt
Dan Koehler
Minnesota Astronomical Society
Milwaukee Astronomical Society
1993 Ronald Parmentier Neville Public Museum Astronomical Society
1994 Rolland P. Van Zandt Peoria Astronomical Society
1995 James Fox Minnesota Astronomical Society
1996 Dave Beine Wehr Astronomical Society
————————-no award ——————————
1998 Warren J. “Nick” Nichols Northern Cross Science Foundation, Wehr Astronomical Society
1999 Dr. Harry B. Nelson Popular Astronomy Club
————————-no award ——————————
2001 Sam Bruesch Rockford Amateur Astronomers
2002 Barry & Carol Beaman Rockford Amateur Astronomers
2003 George McCourt Neville Public Museum Astronomical Society
2004 Dan C. Jardine Sangamon Astronomical Society
2005 Katrina DeWitt Neville Public Museum Astronomical Society
2006 Kevin Bert Northern Cross Science Foundation
2007 Carl Wenning Twin City Amateur Astronomers
————————-no award ——————————
2009 Ray Stonecipher
Don DeWitt
Door Peninsula Astronomical Society
Neville Public Museum Astronomical Society
2010 Ty Westbrook Northeast Wisconsin Stargazers
2011 David Oesper Iowa County Astronomers
2012 Gene DuPree Northern Cross Science Foundation
2013 Gerry Kocken Neville Public Museum Astronomical Society
2017 David Leake Champaign-Urbana Astronomical Society